Notices

Hello. Very brand new. Scared

Old 08-31-2013, 04:52 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Hello. Very brand new. Scared

Hi,
I'm new to this site, this is my first post, and in fact I'm brand new to the idea that I am a true alcoholic and should probably never, ever drink again.

I found this site quite by accident on Monday when while nursing a particularly bad hangover and googled "how to quit drinking." Mind you, I never intended that to mean "quit drinking FOREVER" I just wanted a few easy tips on how to stop "for a while". Somehow I found this site and started reading people's stories and seeing myself reflected in these stories. I also did an online AA worksheet that helped me realize that most of my drinking "accomplishments" such as going out with the girls and only having 2 drinks (only to come home and drink a whole bottle of wine or more) were actually my alcoholic way of avoiding negative consequences from my drinking such as embarrassment, a DUI, etc. Wow, what a mind blower that was!

Anyway, I'm currently on day 6. It's been pretty easy so far. Yes, I've had some night sweats but that's about it. Ive actually slept better these last 5 nights than in years. Insomnia was one of my reasons for drinking. I was very nervous about last night. My first sober Friday night in I don't know how long and I knew my husband was going to drink (which he did) but, it went very smoothly. We watched a movie with our children and I have to say I enjoyed that movie more than any other I've seen in a loooong time! Not necessarily because it was the best movie ever made, but because I was fully present in it. I could feel all its highs and lows and the suspense and the action because I wasn't sitting there passively but actively enjoying the movie. I had 1 stressful moment this week that made me want to drink, but I examined my feelings, why I was feeling that way, etc and was able to work through it without succumbing to having a drink.