How does emotional eating fit in with our recovery?

Old 07-16-2013, 11:34 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

How does emotional eating fit in with our recovery?

Hi everyone.

I'm about 3 weeks into NC and break-up from my exABF. I'm realizing that while I feel healthier every day -- sad but able to understand and feel and be honest with myself without wanting or needing him back -- I have been coping with emotional eating.

This is something I've struggled with now and then my whole adult life. In times of stress I snack and make more unhealthy choices, particularly in the evenings and at work. I'm not heavy but modestly overweight, the kind that I hide in my clothes but am somewhat pudgy. It isn't about weight as much as its about knowing that I'm doing this as a coping mechanism when it isn't actually helping.

I'm new to recovery as a concept for myself and recognizing I am not full blown codependent ( if its a scalable thing but have some serious codependent tendencies I want to work through and learn and heal from. This relationship with my ex has opened my eyes and I'm seeing my own relationship health so differently -- the choices I've made and how I want to be on my own before engaging with men and love again. I just went to my first AlAnon, and am feeling strong and aimed towards self- care, but just facing it that my eating has crept into unhealthy realms and that is self- sabotaging, even if less direct than contacting my exABF or something.

So I guess my question is, from a recovery standpoint, what do you do when you notice another coping behavior coming in? Is emotional eating common for anyone else in recovery, and how have you handled it? Any advice welcome. I know awareness is a start, and I'm trying to not beat myself up and just make healthier choices one at a time.

Thanks all.
Old 07-16-2013, 12:04 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  

Sadielady-

A topic near and dear to me.