Notices

Don't want this life

Old 06-29-2013, 10:58 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Don't want this life

Hi,
I'm tired of drinking too much and feeling hungover. I'm tired of saying stupid things while I'm drunk. I'm tired of looking into my children's eyes and feeling like a loser. I am a good person. I am smart, funny, caring, a good mother and wife. I am a good person and this is a bad part of my life and I want it gone.

I don't know why I drink as much as I do. I know that I drink way too much and way to often. I know that I have long-standing anxiety/depression that was made worse by life events in the past 10 years, but I can't even blame that, because I drank like this before that time too.

I've had periods of complete sobriety in the past 14 years that I've been drinking - once for 2 years and twice for 1 year, but aside from that, I can't remember a time when my drinking wasn't out of control.

I'm really unhappy and disappointed in myself, and really hungover today and done with this.
Old 06-29-2013, 11:08 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  

Welcome to the forum!

I think it's a good place for finding supporting people and for reading about other people who have had similar issues. Do you have a plan yet for recovery, or just looking around to see what other people have done? (or don't know yet?)

Good job on taking that first step and looking for help.
Old 06-29-2013, 11:21 AM
  # 3 (permalink)  

Welcome! Congrats on taking the step and wanting to change. Every choice you make after deciding to stop drinking will be a good one. This place is a great start.
Old 06-29-2013, 11:27 AM
  # 4 (permalink)  

My plan is to stop drinking! I know that sounds stupid... I tried AA last time I quit and did not find it helpful, so I joined a gym instead and focused on that. Suppose I traded one addiction for another and never really changed my attitude. First time I stopped drinking was with the help of a therapist for other mental health reasons.