Notices

I'm new

Old 05-11-2004, 10:43 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  
Paused

I'm new

I'm new to this. I'm here because my long-term boyfriend has a problem. Big one. He knows he has to get sober...but has yet to do so. I'm reeling sort of. Not quite sure what road to take. He's been sober before. He knows the tools. I'm not sure whether to be there in support or to leave. I've called him on his bs before...doesn't seem to work. I'm sort of scared about everything right now. any advice?
Old 05-11-2004, 11:08 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  
NOT EVEN 1 CLUB!!

Hi Sarah! I'm Missy and I'm an alcoholic. Welcome to SR. There's a lot of support and advise here. Just make sure first of all that you are safe. You know he can only get sober if he decides to and is working some type of program. You may want to check out the alanon and narnon boards here. They may have what you're looking for! Stick around and hopefully we can help!

Hugs,
Missy
Old 05-12-2004, 12:15 AM
  # 3 (permalink)  

hi neighbor and welcome
you will find lots of support here. you seem to understand that it is up to him but that never makes it easy. it is difficult to watch someone you love destroy themselves. read a lot of the posts in nar-anon and al-anon they will really help you gain insight and give you direction. i am down with your struggle... that is how i found this site... looking for the answers like you are. the information and support here is invaluable! take care and keep posting! love-alice
Old 05-12-2004, 05:59 PM
  # 4 (permalink)