Notices

New to the online rooms

Old 05-01-2013, 09:17 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

New to the online rooms

Old 05-01-2013, 09:20 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  

Welcome to SR!! Please tell us more about yourself. What help are you looking for?
Old 05-01-2013, 09:44 AM
  # 3 (permalink)  

Welcome! I posted yesterday for the first time and so far have been welcomed with open arms and lots of encouragement.
Old 05-01-2013, 09:57 AM
  # 4 (permalink)  
bona fido dog-lover

What do you need help with? We're here to listen and support you as much as we can.
Old 05-02-2013, 12:45 PM
  # 5 (permalink)  

Hello all. In an unfamilar situation. I am now a therapist at a residential 28 day facility. I fear openly sharing at AA meetings because "could be" residents might take what I say and use it against me once in treatment.

Also, have always struggled with anxiety. ALWAYS. Know it is a big reason why I became an alcoholic. Fearful also to share this flaw in meetings since I have been sober 7 years. I have brought this up in meetings in the past but have never really dealt with it. Also, being a therapist myself now, I feel like I should be able to "cognitively restructure" my thoughts and therefore have no fear of speaking in front of others.

Just a couple of my struggles.
Old 05-02-2013, 12:48 PM
  # 6 (permalink)  
Administrator

Hi and Welcome,

I don't use AA, but I think you could safely discuss your issues there, from what I understand. If not, can you find a counsellor for yourself?
Old 05-02-2013, 12:53 PM
  # 7 (permalink)