Notices

confused...wanting to change but so stuck in my ways.

Old 03-18-2013, 04:49 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

confused...wanting to change but so stuck in my ways.

Am new to this. I have been drinking for 17 years, after the first 3 years it was daily. I am now 32 years old. At about 22 I had a naltexone implant and abstained for 5 weeks. At 25 I went to rehab and was clean for 3 months. When I left I developed a heroin addiction, as well as struggling with alcohol. Since then the heroin and alcohol have played a large part of my life. I haven't used heroin for 14 months now but continue to drink daily. When my partner was incarcerated 14 months ago I realized I wanted to start living the life I had always dreamed of so I went back to school to complete year 12. I am now at university and desperately want to succeed but know I wont if I continue the way I am. I don't discuss any of these things with friends as I feel ashamed.
Old 03-18-2013, 04:53 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  
Marchia in Aeternum

Welcome to the lifeboat. Grab an oar.

Nothing to be ashamed about. Some of us, our brains are wired for addiction. It's the way we are. The only choice is stop using. The method is up to you. Read around the site, talk with everyone here, seek other help if you need to.

You can do this.
Old 03-18-2013, 05:54 AM
  # 3 (permalink)