Dreaded -Empty Nest confusion

Old 01-20-2013, 11:51 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Dreaded -Empty Nest confusion

I have been dreading today for many months. The day my youngest finally moved out. He is 20 years old now in college and has moved less than 20 minutes away by train. But I expected to spend the day in bed crying.

So why am I dancing around to the Bee Gees and periodically admiring myself in the mirror? wtf!?

I am not used to this. Is this some sort of normal delayed shock ? Am I going to wake up tomorrow wanting to end it all?

I declined earlier to go to my sisters after she invited me because I want to face reality and not circumvent any pain coming my way.

I was much more upset earlier in the week when STBXAH said he would come round and help my son fix his computer - so long I 'wasn't there'! This is the person who has been sleeping in our bed with another woman till recently -whoa!

Meanwhile listening to 'Samantha Sang' listening to 'Just emotion' sounds so sweet - I feel like I am 14 again.
Anyway anybody know about this strange reaction of mine- am I in sort of denial - does it get worse.?
Old 01-20-2013, 11:59 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  
LDT

I thought I would curl up and die from the empty nest syndrome . I had a really Hard time when the first of our 4 kids left. The second kid moved just around the block so that wasn't an issue. But when my TWINS were getting ready to leave for college at the same time, I started dreading it almost a year in advance....had crying jags...couldn't sleep, eat, etc..... But guess what....
My DH and I are having an absolute b.l.a.s.t!! That has been the biggest surprise to both of us.... I don't think you are in "denial", cr995. You still will have days you miss him terribly....but maybe you are realizing that there IS life after kids. ....at least that's been my
experience.

Enjoy!!
Old 01-20-2013, 12:07 PM
  # 3 (permalink)