Not sure if I belong here

Old 12-03-2012, 07:41 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Not sure if I belong here

This is my first-ever post in this forum,and I am not sure if I belong.

I have been married for almost 20 years to my husband who has been sober for about 30 years. I did not know him when he was drinking.

In recent years things have become very difficult. I am sure he suffers from anxiety but he has been on anti-depressants only briefly because they interact badly with the painkillers he takes for his knees.

We have 2 teenage sons, and for most of our marriage, he has been happy to let me do my own thing as long as the kids were with me. TaeKwonDo, Boy Scouts, School. Doctors. Haircuts. All my domain. I also work full-time as a middle achool teacher. Now he is feeling left out and has become increasingly controlling.

My kids are old enough so that I can do some things that I enjoy. Bible study at church. Mass in the mornings. Coffee with friends. He is most distressed by my relationship with God and anything I do associated with the church. (He attends the same church and is welcome to participate in any of these activities, but chooses not to.)

Right now I am in the "dog house" because the boys and I went to the parish gumbo yesterday and stayed to help clean up, and in the evening I returned for our yearly Christmas musical program. He could have come to either, but refused.

In August we went to a Retrouvaille weekend (like Marriage Encounter, but for hurting marriages). The main thing he came away with was that the priest supposedly told him ( during confession) that he is supposed to "be the leader" of the family and that if he is home, I should be at home. This just sounds all wrong to me. No one else on the Retrouvaille program put forth this view. I can understand cultivating some common interests, date nights, etc, but to be on what amounts to house arrest...Lord, take me now.