Notices

done with denial

Old 11-15-2012, 05:32 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

done with denial

hello, friends. this is my first time on these posts and i accidentally posted my first post as a reply to someone else's post. sorry about that. reposting as new thread. thanks!
done with denial

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

hello, all. i am new to this site. i first tried to get sober almost 3 yrs ago, through a.a. i was sober from november, 2010-september, 2011, and got the brilliant idea MAYBE could still drink like a "normal" drinker, as i am one of those seemingly "functional" alcoholics, as least thus far. fast forward to a year of drinking which has gotten progressively worse. from 11/6 thru this past tues, 11/13, i drank 8 days straight, which i have never done. today is day 2 being sober and i feel so sick i haven't been able to eat or barely drink any water. i don't want to do this anymore, ever again. i went to therapy yesterday and confessed the extent of my drinking and that i am truly an alcoholic who cannot drink, as i had been not been completely honest with my therapist (shocking! lol). i went back to a.a. today and know it's the place for me, and that it will get easier, but right now i feel so hopeless and scared. it's hard to imagine going almost a year sober again but i did it before and i feel that this time i truly want it. i have grown to absolutely hate drinking, whereas it used to seem fun. i am going to another women's meeting tonight i used to attend and sure that will help, but right now i'm just trying to pass the hours until hope returns, as i can't seem to stop crying. thank you for listening. i know many have experienced the shame i'm feeling after relapsing so you know how i feel.