Notices

Unpositive Help

Old 10-22-2012, 07:12 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Unpositive Help

So I've been sober for one week today. What I am going to write is hard for me to write but it really upset me.

I took the plunge and visited another recovery site, which required payment. I asked some questions and was promptly flamed. I wasn't being nasty or confrontational but simply was confused by their terminology and the way they phrased their recovery languare.

Instead of answering my questions, I was met with a hectoring tone, sarcasm and what I perceived as a snide response. My questions for the most part, remained unanswered.

I was so angry I couldn't sleep last night. The response I received did not cause me to drink -- I am still sober -- it only reinforced my resolve but it certainly soured me on some so-called "experts."

I decided to post this here because I really need some support, I am a newbie and wanted to get if off my chest.

Thanks.
Old 10-22-2012, 07:17 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  
Thriving sober since 12/18/08

That's crazy.. but maybe the silver lining is that it prevented you from being part of a crappy recovery forum. This one's the best
Old 10-22-2012, 07:17 AM
  # 3 (permalink)  

Sorry emu, that won't happen here. What are the questions?
Old 10-22-2012, 07:21 AM
  # 4 (permalink)  
A Day at a Time

I would be unhappy to. Anyone new to recovery has a zillion questions. SR is free and welcoming stick with it. Chalk it up to a learning experience and let it go. At least you know what not to do.

I think it was Thomas Edison that said, "I have never failed. I just know 1000 ways not to do it."
Old 10-22-2012, 07:22 AM
  # 5 (permalink)  
Administrator

You will find positive support here, always, and SR has always been free and will continue to be free.

What kind of questions do you have?
Old 10-22-2012, 07:27 AM
  # 6 (permalink)