Notices

Withdrawal Issues/My Abridged Story

Old 09-07-2012, 08:28 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  
SoberDreams

Withdrawal Issues/My Abridged Story

Hi SR,

I haven't been here in a while, but whenever I really sober up I come daily. *As I'm a newbie I mostly just read, as it seems to help. *Needless to say, I'm very thankful this place exits. *Thank you SR for all that you do. *

I'm tending to ramble these days. *I don't know if it's my brain overreacting because it's not used to being sober or having less alcohol or something else. *Please bare with me. *What I do know is that since I've been trying to quit, then binge, then quit again, *my once precise and to the point arguments/conversations have become long and drawn out. *Even when I drank everyday I wasn't like this. *So before you begin reading this, please know that it will probably be rediculously long and tedious. *

Before I ask my question let me preface it with the fact that I understand *we are not here to give, or ask for, medical advice. *I understand that. *I am merely asking for personal experiences, drunk to drunk. *

Brief personal history: *Both my mother and father were hardcore alcoholics. *My mothers mom, and Dad, were also alcoholics. *My fathers mother was an alcoholic. *There are countless others in the family who were/are alcoholics. *Some have/did quit drinking. *Others didn't/haven't quit drinking. *More than few have died from alcoholism, including my mother. *So there is an unendingly tortuous family history with alcohol. *

At the height of my addiction I had to have a cup of vodka in the morning just to get to work, followed by a fifth of vodka after work. *When I passed out at night I'd often wake up, at which point I'd take a shot or two and go back to sleep. *Drinking was a constant need and necessity. *It was one of my most basic needs, more so than even food at times. *