Notices

Procrastination

Old 08-14-2012, 04:30 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Procrastination

Ive been drinking for several years now and truely its all I do anymore, I put minimal effort into school and work, and only want to drink. I take antidepressants, mixing alcohol and antidepressants seems to be worsening my depression. I want to quit, but I cant A. stop the cravings. B. find something else to do that I enjoy. I have stopped riding my motorcycle, playing video games, I barely read anymore. My life has come to a hault revolved around drinking. I am not a violent drunk, but it was detrimental to my last relationship, she hated that I drank so much instead of spending time with her. ANY advice pertaining to these questions would be greatly appreciated.
Old 08-14-2012, 04:42 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  
RIP Sweet Suki

Alcohol is a depressant, so it does absolutely no good to take anti-depressants while using alcohol. You might as well take the money you spend on the AD and flush it down the toilet. I wish I had back the thousands of dollars I spent on anti-depressants while continuing to drink.

There are several programs out there to help you stop drinking. The first thing is getting you sober, which can be dangerous. The best thing to do would be to go to your doctor and be honest about your drinking habits and let them help you. You could also go to a medical detox facility for several days. They can make sure you detox safely. That is what I did and I cannot recommend it highly enough.

Welcome to SR. If you want to quit drinking and seek recovery, you will find a lot of support here. We've all been where you are now, so we understand it isn't an easy decision to make. You can do it though. We have and we would love to help you do it, too.
Old 08-14-2012, 04:58 PM
  # 3 (permalink)