Notices

Could someone help me and answer my questions?

Old 07-05-2012, 09:26 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Question Could someone help me and answer my questions?

Hi everyone, I am new to this website as a member but I have checked it out before. I am wondering if anyone can navigate me through my problem as I don't know who to turn to at this point. I will be SO very thankful to anyone that responds.

I have been doing cocaine for almost three years. Not every day, not craving when I wake up, but it is always on my mind and it is always available to me very easily. It started in college and I thought it was a phase and it has spiraled into something I am very uncomfortable with.

Lately (within the last 5 months) I only do it if I am drinking alcohol. However any time I go out to ANY type of social gathering I feel it necessary to drink alcohol. This leads to no inhibitions and poor choices, and I find myself awake at 7am high and drunk and regretting everything.

I thought I was getting better. I had a great job, established myself and was moving forward. But my partying truly effected my work performance, as much as I hate to admit it. I am across the country from my family and the only friends I have here are my best friend (who is VERY organized, straight edge, and mom-like) and my college friends and apartment friends, ALL of whom do drugs and drink with no regard for regret.

I do not drink alone. Nor do I do drugs alone. However once the idea is in my head, I cannot let go of my plan. I have gone to my doctor, told many of my friends to watch after me (including my best friend), shut myself off from social gatherings, etc etc. nothing is working.

I want to go home, to live with my parents, where I am safe, organized, and watched over 24/7. They do not know about my problem. And I don't want to leave Colorado. But after this many years I am not sure what is best, because I want to be strong enough to fight this.

My questions are: