Notices

I Cant Stop Lying

Old 03-03-2012, 12:21 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

I Cant Stop Lying

33 days sober

When I was drinking I had a go-to lie when new people I met asked about what I do for a living. I would tell them I had been layed off by a well known local company, that was well known for its lay-offs. That was usually the end of the convo, they understood. Truth is, I havent worked in years...like years & years...my drinking consumed me and even if I had a job, I would not have lasted long. I never worked for the company that my go-to lie was about. But, while drinking, if I tried to tell someone new the truth about not working in forever, they would either then want to "fix me" and try and push me to get employment, or they would take an immediate disliking towards me and write me off as a lazy bum (which, I was, but I didnt want someone I dont know pigeon-holing that way). That is why I lied. Its no excuse, I hate myself for doing it.

The story gets worse because the first AA meeting I walked into, was awesome and I met a lot of people I now call/see daily, and consider friends. The "gets worse" part is that while surrounded by my now friends (including my now Sponsor) that first night in a meeting & still very much a broken down alcoholic (12 days sober, but had done nothing to rebuild myself otherwise) I told that same lie about past employment. Now that I know these people as friends, they remember my "story" and they ask about my job search and about said job I was fake laid off from.

Honestly, I want to just come clean and tell them all the truth. Scratch that, I KNOW I NEED to come clean and tell them all the truth. Basically I hate myself for lying & am afraid if I dont come clean ASAP it will poison my AA journey and eventually threaten my sobriety.
Old 03-03-2012, 12:30 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  
MINEr