Don't know how to support

Old 11-06-2011, 10:01 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Question Don't know how to support

Hi Everyone,

I am new to SR and this is my first time posting. I have been following the forums a lot lately which have been very helpful to my situation in providing guidance.

About two months ago, I started seeing a recovering heroin addict. Things moved along really fast and got very intense within the time span of about month, then things started getting really serious and really rocky. Long story short, we realized how difficult it was for both of us to try to maintain this relationship as a casual one (which is what we both initially agreed on) and saw ourselves looking for something more serious with each other. About a dozen fights later, we both decided it would be best to drop the relationship and remain friends. He told me that he is in love with me, but that he basically can't handle caring for another person right now in a serious relationship -- understandable, so I told him I will back off and support him in his recovery in any way possible as a platonic friend.

Here's the issue: he gets drunk at work, on the clock. I have caught him doing this several times and called him out on it, the last confrontation ending in threats (what if i threw this out? he'd punch me). He's tried making the excuse before that at least he is not out on the streets buying heroin, as if drinking is a better alternative. He says he is serious about his recovery, but then he gets hammered every day at work. When we are out in public, it is really hard for me to not drink in a social setting, because I am afraid it might enable him to do the same. I don't know what to do....I'm so confused. Advice?
Old 11-06-2011, 10:04 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  

Sometimes not only the addict needs help, but the family too. Find a professional that you can truly relate go. Good luck!
Old 11-06-2011, 10:22 AM
  # 3 (permalink)  

This guy is not serious about or in recovery.