Notices

Brand new to "help" but old hat "quitter"

Old 10-12-2011, 09:19 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Brand new to "help" but old hat "quitter"

Well this is my first time ever posting about my addictions, and my first time trying the "support" deal. I'm 37yr old male, self employeed, with two awesome sons and the most amazingly supportive fiance on the planet. I've been a drug user for well over 20 years I started off drinking, I'm first generation US born from Irish mother, and booze was like medicine growing up. I can't tell you how many times I was given hot whiskey, lemon and honey to go "sweat"out a cold. I was binge drinking and smoking pot by 14, but never had addiction issues until I discovered my first real mistress, GHB, christ I haven't had a drop in ten years and I miss it like the first day I quit.
I was an avid body builder/power lifter and ten years ago "G" was what we all did to recover faster after heavy workouts. Wasn't long before it was a nightly "treat" and weekend binge. It was like magic and made a shy young man with bad body image issues, into an instant ladies man. I've woken up in so many strange beds, not knowing where I was, how I got there, or who these random people were. By this time I was wrapping up a bio/chem degree, and working nights as the doorman at a beach club. I was living a nocturnal life that quickly became the new "reality". I thought I'd found nirvana. I had my fill of as many new women as I wanted, I constantly had people complimenting how I looked. I'd found everything I thought I wanted but when I was sober I was a self loathing, miserable wreck. The ghb was taking a heavy toll, and the DEA was cracking down on sale/manufacture and I knew I needed to clean up. So I did the only logical thing and I quit using, and in short order I'd transfered my addiction to a new mistress Oxycodon.