Notices

Two weeks sober and struggling.

Old 09-02-2011, 09:23 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Two weeks sober and struggling.

Hi, I am 28 years old and I've been drinking pretty heavily for the past 8 or 9 years. I started in college and I've had a tough time stopping. I drink at least 2 or 3 times a week and every single time I drink myself to oblivion to the point where it takes me 2 or 3 days to recover. I finally reached a point in my life where my drinking got the best of me. It's destroyed relationships with friends, family, and even affected my job performance so I've decided to quit. For the longest time I kept telling myself that I could handle going out and having a couple of drinks but now i know that I can't. I don't do a couple of drinks. I drink fifth of vodka.

It'll be exactly 2 weeks that I will have been sober tomorrow and I'm definitely feeling a difference. I sleep better, (dream a lot while I sleep for some reason) and have more energy. I guess those are the immediate positive effects or quitting alcohol. On the negative side, I'm having a very difficult time focusing and finding interest in things. Is this normal ? I get bored easily and more important I find myself very lonely. In order to cut my drinking I've had to part with most of my friends. How do I cope with boredom and loneliness ? Any suggestions and feedback is greatly appreciated.

Thanks in advance
Old 09-02-2011, 09:26 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  
I'm here to learn!

Welcome to SR!

Yes -- what you are going through is normal. The ability to focus came back for me after about two to three months. I didn't take any interest in anything for a while too and it was hard for me to get motivated.

As far as loneliness and boredom go, I would try to make some new sober friends. I did this through my recovery group, you could try AA possibly.

Congratulations on 2 weeks! That's a big accomplishment. I'm 4+ months in and things are getting better every day -- no joke.
Old 09-02-2011, 09:48 PM