I'm moving and I can feel the stress of it all

Old 07-19-2011, 04:53 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

I'm moving and I can feel the stress of it all

Hello SR friends. I could use some encouragement from those of you with a similar story.

I'm putting my house up for sale and moving about 45 minutes away to a nicer, safer neighborhood. I've been working toward this for several years, getting my house prettied up and all.

This is the house I raised my children in. This house is my own personal Tara. Because of how low the house payment was (bought in late 1970s), i was able to raise my children in a pretty nice area with good schools. I was able to have financial security during that time even though ex-husband did not pay child support. God is good. Now it is time to downsize and get out from under home ownership.

But here's the rub. Somewhere deep in me I'm struggling with abandoning the AS. Because he chooses to not be in contact with me, he will find out from other people or by driving by and seeing the "For Sale" sign. So many emotions going on here. I feel like I'm walking away from unfinished business as far as the regrets of how I failed my children (all of them, not just the AS). I feel like I raised this liability to society (referring to AS) and now I'm walking away and leaving this city to fend for itself as far as the damage that this AS does to a society. Kind of like not picking up my dog's poo from my neighbor's lawn.

Please. No dissing here. I'm just an emotional female leaving a home I've lived in for decades, and that home has been good to me. But there's also some parental guilt going on here. Make sense? Since when do emotions make sense, esp in females with strong homing instincts.

Anyone else experience this?
Old 07-19-2011, 05:59 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  

My heart hurts as I see you beating yourself up for your AS and your parenting skills.

No one gives us a definitive manual on how to raise kids.