Notices

Sober but confused?

Old 04-18-2011, 08:41 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Sober but confused?

I'm 25 and have been drinking for about 5 years now- not much for the first 4 years (maybe once or twice a month and never a lot at that) but for the past year or so its got worse. Last 4 months i've been drinking 4-6 days a week and just about everyday for the past 2 months. The amount I drank also got worse with the drinking starting in the morning some days and me finishing up 3 quarters of a bottle of vodka through the day.

3 days back though I didn't drink at night- not a conscious decision, just didnt have any at home. At night I started having cold sweats and couldnt sleep well- so I googled alcohol dependency and the symptoms + where it could go scrared the hell out of me. I also saw clearly that my sleeplessness and sweats werent just a co-incidence.

Have been 3 days sober now. The first night was the worst- like I said I could hardly get an hour of sleep at night and woke up with my sheet soaked with sweat. The day began bad- with more chills etc. but improved thereafter and most of the day was fine. Night was uncomfortable for an hour or so but then I had interrupted sleep but I got a good 5-6 hours in and now I feel fresh and good.

I guess I have stopped way earlier than most here- but are there any users out there with similar (moderate?) dependency. Did yours detox (and associated symptoms) stop within a few days? I guess I am asking- is the worst over or can it still follow from your experience?
Old 04-18-2011, 09:00 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  

I wish I would of knew then at your age what I know now, i had all the clues just didnt act on them.
Old 04-18-2011, 09:11 PM
  # 3 (permalink)  
Administrator

Hi Tomlinson
welcome

If you've been drinking just every day for 2 months, sometimes from morning, thats not moderate dependency.