Girlfriend of Recovering addict

Old 11-27-2010, 04:13 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Angry Girlfriend of Recovering addict

This is my first time to post and I feel like it's time to venture out and talk to people in my situation. I thought for so long I can deal with this myself, but 8months later.........wow.......I need to talk more than ever. I live in Nashville and there isnt any NARANON meeting around here. Yes there is AL ANON and I've tried them, but I just dont relate. I need people my age that are going through this and all ive experienced is ladies in there 50's and 60's......No offenese at all. I just need girls my age to talk to. My boyfriend is a recovering addict. Novemeber 16, 2010 marked 8 months clean. Wow. Can't belive time has flown so by fast. O by the way Im 24 years old and he is 22. To make a lllloooooonggg story short we have been together for a year and 8 months. For 6 months of our relationship he was using without me knowing he was using pain pills. Im not going to say what all happened cause an addict is an addict.........they steal, cheat, and lie to get their way........Ive accepted that and moved on from his mistakes. He went to rehab for 30 days and been tremendously involved in NA since. We live together also. The one thing in life I want most is for him to be happy and alive. Im so proud of him. Im not going to lie though. SInce NA i've been on the backburner. Thats all he ever wants to talk about.........Thats all he wants to be involved in..........Well im not an addict......Ive sacrificed so much and changed my ways to help him out in his recovery. Where is my life? It may sound selfish and contradicting, but it seems to me he would much rather go to a meeting then hang out with me. Everytime we have a fight.........he leaves me and goes to either a half way house where his friends are or goes to a meeting instead of staying and talking it out with me........he is leaving for florida in 3 days to go to a NA sponsership retreat and whe