Go Back  SoberRecovery : Alcoholism Drug Addiction Help and Information > Friends and Family > Friends and Family of Alcoholics
Reload this Page >

Immediate sick nervous feeling in the stomach – how to get rid?

Old 01-19-2010, 07:22 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

So I’m learning how to detach (very very slowly) and I’m not very good at it. When things are going well for ABF I start thinking i’m doing well too, but as soon as something happens with him, I realise i’m not making any progress at all. When he phones up and i know he’s drinking or when i can’t get hold of him for hours on the phone, I immediately feel nervous and sick and can’t make it go away. I feel so worried that sometimes I lose my appetite and can’t concentrate on anything else. I am working on just trying to keep busy and focus on me but i just can’t get rid of that sick nervous stomach and the feelings that come with it. Is this normal? Any advice on stopping it?
And yes, you’d be right in thinking i’m feeling it right now after a phone call. He sounded as if he’d had a few drinks and was in a bad mood. He going to meet someone before i go round there as planned, so i expect that means more alcohol. I could have it wrong though. Why wont this sick feeling go away? Feeling trembly and nervous – i know it is silly.
Old 01-19-2010, 07:33 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  

– i know it is silly.

Not silly by any stretch. I used to minimize my feelings in relation to all that alcoholism brought into my life too. That actually made me very sick!

Sit with that feeling, acknowledge its reality and then do something different with it. Instead of minimizing it, trust it. You are full of apprehension that he is drinking right now and that when you go to see him he will have been drinking? How about you don;t go to see him right now, since you know it's walking into an anxiety-filled hornet's nest for you?

Nothing changes if nothing changes.