Confused and frustrated

Old 01-13-2010, 03:00 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Confused and frustrated

Hi Everyone,

I am new to SR and I wanted to share a little about my story. I have been married to an alcoholic for almost 22 years and have 3 children (the youngest will be 18 this year). There has not ever been a time in our relationship that alcohol has not been an issue. The last few years have been progressively much worse - my husband has developed medical issues and many legal issues associated with his alcohol use. He received his 3rd DUI about 18 months ago and has been in jail a couple of more times for probation violation. His next DUI will be a felony... etc, etc, etc. You all know the story.

Here is my question - why am I finding it so hard to force him to leave? Every professional and Al-Anon friend think I need to kick him out or report him to his probation officer, but every time I come close to making this decision and enforcing it - I just panic and can't do it? I do have some financial concerns, but I have a great job and make pretty good money. I do love my husband and am able to enjoy him when he is sober, but when he is drinking... he is like an explosive timebomb! He is still driving drunk (or arriving home drunk) and I am very concerned about the welfare of others.
Here's where I am at now...
I am not concerned about his legal problems or him suffering the consequences of his actions - I am only concerned that he will hurt someone else. I would call the police if he left the house intoxicated and drove off somewhere in order to protect others.
I am not terribly concerned about his medical problems and the choices he makes there. I am saddened by it, but not overly worried.