need to post

Old 04-20-2009, 09:49 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Question need to post

Long story. Last summer I moved across the country and put some healthy distance between me and my AF with the support of my mom, sister, and brother. I am a grad student who has returned to finally defend her thesis (tomorrow morning!). My mom and sister know, and will be there for the defense.

Since I have moved away I talk to my sister regularly on MSN, and my mom usually calls once a week just to check up on me. I want them there because they have actually followed my progress through all of this. My AF has never called me since I have moved. ("I'm not a good phone person, therefore, if the only way I can reach you is by phone, I will not put in the effort. However, I will talk just fine on the phone IF YOU CALL ME.")

I know he wants to come, but I have chosen NOT to tell my AF until after it is over. I am here all week and figured it would be healthiest for me to go for dinner "as a family" after the fact.

Deep down inside I am terrified of the anger I still feel towards him. I know last month that AF's drug addict brother complete with junkie gf "dropped by" the house while my mom was at work. AF has been well behaved for the past couple months (doing dishes and keeping things generally clean, as he only works part-time while my mom works full-time). But then this happened, and my mom came home from work to find beer spilled on the floor, dishes left where they had been used, and two drug addicts passed out in the bed SHE SLEEPS IN (it's in the spare room; she sleeps there when she needs REAL rest before work) Needless to say she was extremely pissed out when she saw this, and slammed the door by the spare room. This is her classic passive-aggressive way of letting the whole house know that she's angry and hurt.