Four months

Old 04-15-2009, 07:45 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Four months

Hi everyone, Yes I haven't had contact with my X partner since I hung up on his call on christmas eve. I answered & heard his voice & hung up. It was very hard for me to do & then the feelings for the rest of the day. I felt good once that passed & I continued to let go & let god. So four months later I am feeling good about my decision. I was in that relationship since Nov 1999 & never thought I would be able to let him go. We were deeply in love, that I never doubted but the addiction destroyed our relationship (not the love and I still pray for health & happiness for him no matter where our lives have taken us). It's part of my recovery to detach the addiciton from the person & I learned that being a truely grateful member of NarAnon for 9yrs. I still continue to support NarAnon when I can.

I am not so insecure & as lonley as I thought I'd be without him. My life is changing in many positive ways, I am studying & concentrating on MY GOALS..!!

I finally shredded all my Xpartners letters, all of them & the photo's too. I still have to bury the locks of hair he gave me with a nice plant to grow ontop. It's emotive & I accept that I may feel sad sometimes but it will pass.

What matters is that I am able to let go of him & allow him to take his journey as I am mine. thanks for listening.

hugs,
focusontoday
Old 04-15-2009, 07:56 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  

[quote=focusontoday;2194793] It's part of my recovery to detach the addiciton from the person]
a hard concept but one that is worth learning.
[ My life is changing in many positive ways, I am studying & concentrating on MY GOALS..!! ]
that is fantastic news!!

[What matters is that I am able to let go of him & allow him to take his journey as I am mine.
quote]

your recovery is shining, good job!!!
Old 04-15-2009, 08:34 PM
  # 3 (permalink)