Notices

1st Time Ever Ever Ever

Old 03-29-2009, 08:19 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

1st Time Ever Ever Ever

I've never really tried to stop drinking & never sought any formal help. Except it finally dawned on me that the severe, chronic diarrhea I've been having for the last 9 months is from alcohol. Now I'm having burning stomach/abdominal pain. It's probably from the 1 to 1 1/2 bottles of wine I've been drinking every night, ya think? After a little bit of Internet research this weekend, I got the idea this might get really bad if I keep this up.

If I don't drink at night, especially after a stressful day at work, I won't know what else to do with myself. I won't drink tonight (probably), because my stomach hurts too much. But by tomorrow night, I'll be ready to buy wine on my way home from work. Help? Advice?

I'm not good at asking for helping or accepting it, and I'm not good at groups. (Probably one of the reasons I ended up here.) Thanks for those who are helping us newcomers.
Old 03-29-2009, 08:35 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  

I would go to your doctor and be totally honest. It could be the drinking but it would be a good idea to get it checked out anyway.

SR is a wonderful place. There are quite a few people who use SR in their recovery and don't go to meetings.

Welcome.
Old 03-29-2009, 08:38 PM
  # 3 (permalink)  

advice?.......you bet......get to a doctor and be totally honest about your drinking..and subsequent problems.

Welcome to sr ........here you will find a wealth of support and advice..

i am a chronic alcoholic that doesnt drink today.......i wanted you to know it is possible to recover from alcoholism.

I use aa and the 12 twelves to mantain my sobriety and contentment.

Have you tried it?......if not dip your toe in the water and give it a go.

There are also other recovery programs....i have no experience of these but
others on sr do with success........check out the threads and see what you think.