new hear and need advice

Old 01-19-2009, 06:21 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

new hear and need advice

Hello, I am new here. I have come to realize that my husband is an alcoholic. I have actually known it for a few years, but really just wanted to ignore it. He holds a steady job, supports our family, actually makes a good living, but we struggle a bit financially because of his drinking and spending. I am in my last year of college and work part itme, we have two girls 16 and 9. My husband has always beena drinker and drinks everyday and when he does not, he feels ill. It has gotten worse, he lies about where he is, lies about money, and has admitted to one affair. When my husband is not drinking, which is usually just a day or two, he is great and I can stand being with him, but as soon as he drinks, I do not be around him, even if he has just a few beers, I start to get upset. I gues I have very strong feelings of resentment when he drinks, it makes me hate alchohol. I also do not want to be intimate with him when he is drinking, and he gets very upset with me about that then we pretty much do not speak for days. I have decided to stay with him, and pray that he gets his drinking under control. I realize that I can not help him. I am just not sure what to do and how to react to him, especially when he is drinking and wants to be intimate, or he goes out driniknig and wants every thing to be fine the next morning. I want to help him, but I have to stay focused on my life and my children and I feel like his drinking is ruining my life. i am sick of letting this happen. I was taught not to discuus your personal problems with others so I do not discuss this with anyone., but I need advice on how to deal with this problem and how to react to my husband when he is drinkning. Thank you
Old 01-19-2009, 07:03 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  

debvin,

I'm sorry you find yourself in this situation and I'm glad you found us here. There is a ton of support here.