Notices

Girlfriend drinks a lot

Old 09-01-2008, 02:27 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Girlfriend drinks a lot

Hi everyone,

I've never used a site like this before but then, I've never been in this situation before.

I have been seeing a wonderful woman for the last 14 months. I love her endlessly. But over the course of our relationship, she drinks to excess. Not every night. Mostly weekends. Except of late, she's been working less and going on 3-5 day benders. The only problems we have ever had are as a result of the drinking. And when she does get tanked (really the only way to describe it), she becomes a different person. Party animals. Drinking non stop. Yelling. Throwing things. Not in anger, but in fun. She's wreck a number of her phones. Last week, she was trying to kick out the back windows of her car cause it would be funny. Then, once those activities die down, on comes the overwealming sadness and depression. Those seem to bleed right through into the next day and sometimes for a few. She hates things that she does. She knows she shouldn't. But won't admit a problem and won't stop. I have been through hell with this lately. Never known such emotional pain myself, as our relationship has been kinda rocky.

Problem being, she would never go to any meetings. I know this. So what else can I do? I am not willing to walk away and let her slip into oblivion. Not an option. I think that a full time job would help by giving her some structure. She's 24 now and most people in her life don't quite grasp how bad it is.

Any advice you can share would be great. Thank you.
Old 09-01-2008, 02:35 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  

Unfortunately you cannot do anything for her. She must do it for herself. All you can do is take care of yourself. An alcoholic must admit they have a problem. You can bring it up to her but try to do it when she is not drinking or hung over.