Notices

Wanting to heal

Old 05-01-2008, 03:39 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Wanting to heal

I am new to this in both recovery and forum. I found all of your positive feedback extremely uplifting and knew I had to try this for myself. I am a mother of two young boys and have been addicted to vicodin for 3 + years. I have always been scared of quitting because I am not sure how I will be without the pills. Will I still be able to laugh, have fun, etc.....???? I just need some feedback that this will be the beginning of a whole new life for me and my family. Will I really feel better off of the pills?
Old 05-01-2008, 04:01 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  
We Do Recover

You will feel better to not be imprisoned to the bondage of addiction. It will probably be scary/uncomfortable at first, but you definitely will get so much more out of life later--and yes, you will learn how to laugh and feel emotions again. Change is scary for any addict...but you no longer have to go through this alone. There are plenty of people here who can offer support. All you have to do is ask. Welcome!:ghug3
Old 05-01-2008, 04:15 PM
  # 3 (permalink)  

Thank you kindly. I guess it is just the unknown. I am sure my friends and family see a difference in me. I no longer want to leave my house or hang out with my friends. We just moved to a different state and I do not have a good support system here. People at work ask me to do things but I always seem to find an excuse. I fret that my family would be disappointed in me as I am dissapointed in myself. I have let things go as it just seems easier to deal with after I have taken a pill. I know this is not normal. I see so many other people having fun and sometimes wonder if they take vicodin as well. Hoping to feel free of this burden.
Old 05-01-2008, 04:54 PM
  # 4 (permalink)  
We Do Recover