Notices

scruffy the cat day 1

Old 04-16-2008, 01:18 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

scruffy the cat day 1

HI all , I'm new to this . I just took my first antabuse pill and i guess i'm on my way. I am seriously scared. I used to know what i was going to do each night , now i have no idea.
Old 04-16-2008, 01:34 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  

Hiya scruffy!

Old 04-16-2008, 01:35 PM
  # 3 (permalink)  
Administrator

Hi Scruffycat,

Welcome!

I didn't take antabuse, but I sure remember the feeling of 'what am I going to do each night'? I couldn't imagine getting through an evening with wine. My husband was living two hours away for his work and just came home on weekends. My kids were teenagers and completely occupied. It was so scary. The thing is, the fear was not realistic. Of course, there were things to do and I was surprised how quickly I got back to doing things that I used to enjoy.

Watch a good movie, go for a walk, call a friend, volunteer, take a course, the list is endless. Just follow your heart.
Old 04-16-2008, 01:47 PM
  # 4 (permalink)  
bona fido dog-lover

I'm quite new to this also. I'm having trouble dealing with the feelings I used to keep "comfortably numb" with wine. Now I'm freaking out that I have all these feelings. It's scary.
Old 04-16-2008, 01:54 PM
  # 5 (permalink)  

Hi and welcome.
Old 04-16-2008, 01:58 PM
  # 6 (permalink)  

Feeling. Its all new to me also. I was so use to beingdumb and numb I find myself completely incapable of dealing with even the smallest of problems. The good news is that once I got clean the problems became less and dont hang around as long cause instead of ignoring them till they snowball out of control and I end up in as much trouble as possible I try to address them right away (most of the time).