Notices

22 can't drive

Old 02-16-2008, 03:15 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Angry 22 can't drive

So for as long as I can remember I've had anxiety. I've been seeing a psychiatrist for about seven years now off and on. I've tried a lot of medication for the disorder but nothing really seems to help me when it comes to the subject of driving.

I have been out driving with my dad a few times (never on roads with speeds of over 45 MPH) he tells me I'm a good driver, but I just can not calm down when I'm behind the wheel. I'm so scared that I'm going to mess up and have someone honking at me and swearing at me. Even thinking about driving gives me chills.

It's hard to be 22 and rely on the bus schedules around here to get you where you want to go in a timely manner.

Sometimes I wish there was just some other way to get from point A to point B quickly.

Does anyone else have trouble with driving?

I'm pretty frustrated and disappointed in myself.
Old 02-16-2008, 04:29 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  
To Life!

Hi, MrN;
And welcome to SR!!!

Yes, for years, I had difficulty driving, especially on the highway!
I was a nervous wreck and felt frozen. And when I had to go over a bridge, omg! Many times, I didn't go places, just because of the fact I had to go on a highway or over a bridge! It really hampered my life. I was filled with anxiety.

Then, I started college. I *had* to go on the highway. I was in my thirties. I just stayed in the middle lane, to avoid the exit ramps and the high speed lane. I let others go around me. I stayed *at* the speed limit, no matter what others were doing.

And, before I knew it, I became more comfortable! Yea, I faced my fear, and, it really is true, my fear went away!!!