Please welcome petdon

Old 09-15-2007, 06:15 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

I have not posted before but after reading this post it truly described alot of my feelings about husband. We have been seperated almost two-half years. It is extremely painful to be on the outside looking in. H has new friends that totally support his drinking, a job, another woman which he lives with . He has no contact with one of our dgtrs and limited with the other. I new him for 30 years. The alcohol took everything we had together slowly over time. I do not know if he will ever hit his bottom. He still sends support to me and messages that he is in hell but continues to go back for more. I don't talk to him but do e-mail him about finances etc. I gave up trying to give him advice and moral support because he is living with this woman while we are still legally married. I am in counseling but work so many hours my extra time is spent with my daughter and trying to keep my home, bills paid etc. I am a nurse and love my job. I understand that this is alcoholism at its finest but it is still so painful to not be able to help him. I have detached but do not have the emotional stamina to divorce him. I don't even think at this point it would make a difference I am afraid it would make give up completely. I know I have to go on with my life but I am as sick as he is in alot of ways because I cannot give up on him completely.
Old 09-15-2007, 06:27 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  
My Cape Is at The Cleaners

Welcome.

Have you been to Alanon in these past 2 years?
Has it helped you at all?

We seem to hang on to things at times as a way of thinking that if we do we still can change things.
Alas we all do find out that we can not.

I was in fact separated for about three years before the divorce.

I had to for myself finally cut the cords of something that no longer existed.
Not to mention free myself on any legal or financial messes she could get herself into.