asking parents of adult substance abuse children

Old 08-19-2007, 01:07 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

asking parents of adult substance abuse children

Friends,

i have done much reflection today and wanted to know if any of you have felt at all like this........I feel great sadness that even if my AS recovers that our family will never be the same. In other words my college age daughters feel no longer connected to their brother and he has not been there for them in a long time. Therefore they are not interested in pursuing a relationship with him as they feel they have nothing in common with him anymore. My husband (son's stepfather) feels my son has not been decent to me not only as a mother but as a human being. So he feels no inclination to get any kind of closeness going. My elderly parents are just devastated and are afraid he will relapse and put us all through this upheaval again.....although there can be no predicition.
Since I work in the legal field I have done things to protect my family such as revising our wills explaining full well that rehab has come out of his share when the time comes. I have put property in such as way that he can never force our daughters to sell anything down the road and he gets no money unless he passes a submitted hair follicle sample each and every month. I felt the need to protect my daughters in every way possible.