Notices

Back again

Old 08-03-2007, 01:55 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Back again

I'm 27 and this is about my 100th time trying to quit drinking. I've been drinking for over 10 years, and every time I do, I get completely blasted. I'm not the two drink maximum type of girl. After I turned 21, I pretty much went into a drinking every night cycle. It got worse when I moved into my own apartment with no roommates from 22-26. I drank every night. Now I live with a roommate and I drink every other night, but the days I don't drink, I'm recovering from the night before. I have been to AA meetings, but not consistently. I have tried "rational recovery", but no cigar. I have had a boyfriend for a year that is kinda recognizing that I have an issue. He has never said anything to me before, but I ordered a book called High Bottom Drunk 2 days ago. Today he said, "Yeah, my girlfriend who orders a book about addiction, then gets drunk the next day." I got all defensive and mad, but I know the reason is because I know I have a problem.