Hi There, I am new to this .

Old 04-28-2003, 12:43 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  
Paused

Hi There, I am new to this .

Hi everyone, need help or actually my husband needs help. I married my DH in 1997 after living together for 3 years. Yes I always knew he liked his beer, but over the last few years the amounts are increasing on a daily basis. However he never gets drunk, in the last 9 years I have seen him really drunk only twice. My husband drinks at least 7 beers after he comes home from work, at 13.30. He will have his last beer way after I had my dinner, dinner is ready at 5 PM but my dh only wants to eat at around 7-8 PM. He keeps telling me, that him being an alcoholic is all in my head, as he does not hurt me, abuses me, ( I think emotional by the amount of drinking, putting stress on me), the bills are paid etc, he does not stumble or fall when he drinks..you probably have heard this all before..I organized his empties last week, 82 cans of empties ( 73 were his, over a 2 week period) Today I organized the empties again, 43 cans..he did not drink yesterday as he had a hangover..which he will not admit to of course.
However my dh is smart, when we go out to his or my parents he only drinks 3 beers so no one is going to tell hem anything..he never wants to go out anywhere, always has an excuse not to go out somewhere. He has no friends, as he does not want any friends. He is 47 years old, but sometimes I am so afraid because his behaviors are that of a teenager. Racing on the computer for hours, getting angry at the computer for not winning a race..etc. He has no stamina at all always too tired to do fun things outside of the house.