Notices

smokeless tobacco

Old 08-27-2006, 09:24 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

smokeless tobacco

Does anyone have any personal experience quitting chew?

I have been using tobacco for about 11 years...I am also an addict and decided I would quit the nicotine after I was settled in recovery...
11 months later and I'm trying to quit, or even cut back...but honestly this is more difficult than quitting meth...? go figure.

Any help would do...thanks

j.
Old 08-27-2006, 09:54 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  

I'm an ex-smoker. Quit smoking when I quit drinking, but I was desperate. Drove people a bit nuts for a while, but I was neurotic, and that came with the territory. Just went to a lot of meetings and became willing to go to any lengths. These days I would try Nicotine Anonymous.

It's a big blow to the ego to feel nuts, but you just walk through it one day at a time, learn about it, learn new behaviors. You've been sober for a while, you know the drill. Doesn't mean it's any easier, but you can do it--with the -proviso that sobriety comes first.

Good luck!
Old 08-28-2006, 03:38 AM
  # 3 (permalink)  
To Life!

I have no personal experience with chew. But, I know nicotine, no matter how it's delivered, is difficult to quit. Here's some information I've found right now, and I'll try to find more.

Smokeless Tobacco/Chew

Smokeless tobacco is NOT a safe alternative to smoking cigarettes.
Smokeless tobacco includes BOTH chewing tobacco and snuff.
The use of smokeless tobacco is considered to be a directly related cause of oral cancer and gum disease.
Smokeless tobacco use CAN lead to dependence on nicotine.
Smokeless tobacco users have displayed blood nicotine levels equivalent to those of cigarette smokers.
If you dip, 2.0 mg. - 3.5 mg of nicotine per dip enters your bloodstream twice the dose delivered by a standard 1 mg cigarette.