Notices

detoxing from methadone

Old 09-07-2014, 03:55 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

detoxing from methadone

I started detxing from methadone about 2 months ago. I had gotten up to 90 mg's at the clinic but i couldnt stop using cocaine. so i decided abstinance is the only way for me. Luckily i am a veteran and i have been able to detox 5 mg's a week in a locked detox ward in the VA. i am down to 35 mg's methadone and 1 mg of xanax. i am becoming stir crazy however and i also have alot of legal issues to that are driving me crazy and so i want to just cut off the methadone and the xanax and get out of here. the team of doctors and social workers disagree and think i should continue the detox as is. i was wondering what anyone here thinks how bad would the detox be off 35 mgs of methadone and should i just listen to the doctors
Old 09-07-2014, 05:43 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  
Waiting For Engines

Thumbs up Re: Detoxing From Methadone

Hi….

Wow. To drop 55-60 mgs of Methadone in 2 months is certainly admirable. However, as a veteran of this type of withdrawal, you also know that the last 35 mgs will be the most difficult ones to get off of. Also, you will not have an inpatient setting which is medically supervised just in case something does happen. From the literature I have read—I am not an MD—40 mgs is around the point that Methadone users will start feeling more signs of withdrawal.

I am a pain management patient who was scheduled to receive a Medtronic Pain Infusion Pump and found out one week before that I had to stop the methadone cold turkey. This was in 2008. Below were the list of medications I was on prior to getting the pump.