Notices

Short Term Suboxone

Old 02-26-2012, 07:55 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Short Term Suboxone

Hey I've posted on this site before so I won't go into my detailed story again but basically, I've been abusing pain meds for over 4 years and actually want to be done with it and get clean. I'm doing anywhere from 120mg-160mg of oxycodone every day. My question is, can I use suboxone for a few weeks and call it quits after that? I've read stories about people taking it for months and months and years and years and I have no interest in that. I just want to block the worst part of the physical withdrawals from the oxy. I then plan to move away to a completely different state and create a fresh start on life. Any advice/suggestions are welcome. Thanks in advance.

CS
Old 02-26-2012, 08:10 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  
Administrator

Hi again Chris - I recommend you get a Dr in on the discussions.
Do you plan to do that?

D
Old 02-26-2012, 09:21 PM
  # 3 (permalink)  

Yes I'll be seeing a doctor. I'll still only want to do it for a few weeks. Prolonged use of suboxone causes withdrawals and I have no interest in that. I've considered weaning down a bit before I make the jump to suboxone. My pain doctor wrote me a script for morphine and I'm considering using that as a way to "replace" the oxy while it leaves my system. This is a vicious cycle and I'm ready to be done with it. Living every day for a pill is no way to live.
Old 02-28-2012, 03:29 AM
  # 4 (permalink)