Notices

Totally confused...

Old 06-23-2017, 05:42 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Totally confused...

Hey guys, newbie here!

I'm not really sure where to start, but here goes. I've drank maybe 3 times a week for the last couple of years and I find myself not being able to go more than a few days without 'fancying a drink'. The trouble is that I cannot just stop at 1 or 2 and I always have 6+. I have realised that it's become a coping mechanism for my spiralling anxiety and both the anxiety and alcohol seem to fuel one another.

I'm confused as to whether I actually have a problem, I'm familiar with "the first step is to acknowledge that you have a problem" but I have so much going through my head that I don't know if I do have a problem. I'm not in denial, just utterly unsure and confused.

I always believed (maybe rather ignorantly) that alcoholism is strictly reserved to those that wake up needing a drink. Do I have a problem?

I'm sorry in advance if I cause offence due to my explantion of my situation.
Old 06-23-2017, 05:48 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  
Administrator

Welcome!

If you want to know if alcohol is a problem for you, just stop, right now. Go through a period of say 90 days with no alcohol and see how you feel. You will likely have your answer one way or the other.

I think it's good to know that alcoholism is not about how much or how often you drink. It's more about what happens to you when you drink. I became a person I hated, so stopping worked for me.
Old 06-23-2017, 05:51 PM
  # 3 (permalink)  

welcome leighroy.
ok, so your not sure if you have a problem. maybe i can share something that may help you decide:

I find myself not being able to go more than a few days without 'fancying a drink'. The trouble is that I cannot just stop at 1 or 2 and I always have 6+. I have realised that it's become a coping mechanism for my spiralling anxiety and both the anxiety and alcohol seem to fuel one another.