Notices

cold turkey

Old 06-04-2012, 11:22 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

cold turkey

Hi people,
I am new to this just to let you know a little bit about myself. I am now on day 3 of cold turkey from nurofen plus. I have the support of my wife which is a great help. This is where i feel kind of weird I have the shaky legs, turning stomach and this morning a really sore head the thing is i feel kind of positive, the threads i have read have all said that they feel depressed. I know it is only day 3 and tomorrow could be worse though I think that my AA is helping me. You see I am also a recovering alcoholic- 3 and a half years sober so keeping it in the day is something I am used to. Is this normal or am i in for worse ?
Old 06-04-2012, 05:25 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  

Hang in there your almost passed it. I have always felt better or at least so sick of laying around by day 4 that I can get going and do something. Might not be huge but anything to get off the couch or the bed. It all depends on how long you have been using and how much. Great that you have support it's huge. I'm on day 6 and feel great except for the pounding headaches I get. Part of why I was taking Vicodin. Get moving as soon as you can. Walking does wonders. Take care.
Old 06-04-2012, 07:07 PM
  # 3 (permalink)  

cheers skinnywater i was taking up to900 mlg every 2nd day for over 2 years, in the past couple of months i have got it down to 700 mlg every 2nd day I couldnt do the taper thing it just didnt work for me so god presented me with a week of work and i just thought stuff it, its now or never. Its 3 in the morning here so the insomnia is a pain in the ass. nyway thanks for the support and take care
Old 06-04-2012, 07:39 PM
  # 4 (permalink)  

Insomnia is my curse as well. Going toward 40 days and the devil sleep still eludes me. I sleep enough but that is 2-4 hours on a good night and none on a bad one. I don't mind though as overall it is much better than what life was before.