Notices

New and Scared

Old 12-29-2011, 02:26 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Red face New and Scared

I found this site by Googling for "codeine withdrawal" and "codeine + weaning". I'm 31, married, and the mother of 3 kids. I've been abusing substances on and off for many years; from the age of 9 until 16, it was alcohol and pot, oil, and hash. I became pregnant with my first child, and aside from cigarettes, was able to quit everything without a moment of regret. I was never a pill user; I was the person who wouldn't take an aspirin, because I was a firm believer in "sucking it up" when it came to pain, and was blessed with a high pain threshold. When I had my baby via c-section, I was only on Tylenol #3 for maybe 2 days, and then regular Tylenol for a few days after that. Within the next 18 months, I underwent surgeries that required Demerol, morphine, codeine, Percocet, etc., but I never developed an addiction. I never gave the pills a second thought once the worst of the pain was gone.

Alcoholism runs in my family, and I thought that if anything, I'd become an alcoholic. Indeed, I did have several years of drinking under my belt before I even got to high school. I also drank here and there after my first child was born. My ex and I married and went on a honeymoon, where there was bar service included in the package - booze, 24/7. I came home and found myself once again pulled toward alcohol, this time hiding it (we lived with his parents) and making a drink or two as soon as I was home from college for the day.