Go Back  SoberRecovery : Alcoholism Drug Addiction Help and Information > Drug Addiction > Substance Abuse
Reload this Page >

How do I get my doc to help me with lortab/ alcohol addiction?

Notices

Old 12-18-2011, 05:56 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Hi, everyone- I've been reading for a while but this is my first time posting. I'm miserable but scared to death. I've been drinking everyday for about 20 years and started taking tabs and the occasional Roxy about five years ago. I currently drink about two bottles of wine a day mixed with twenty to forty milligrams of lortab. Yeah, I know- that'll kill me. I can't imagine life without the pills. I've had four knee surgeries, hurt my neck and just found out I have thyroid disease, treatable but it causes widespread pain. I'm sick of the rat race of stressing about whether or not I have them, sick of spending the money, sick of feeling guilty and worrying about my health. I can feel my liver right now, seriously. I know I have to quit but how can I get my pain managed without them? Please help and thanks!
Old 12-18-2011, 07:40 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  

(((Jred))) - Welcome to SR! There are many addicts/alcoholics here who have chronic pain, so you are not alone.

I can only tell you about my doctor - the first time I met him, I told him all about my history, my occasional pain issues (had a ruptured disk a few years ago and it flares up every now and then) and we worked out a plan if I were to need pain medicine. Opiates were not my DOC, though I had abused them in the past.

That doctor left the practice, but I've been upfront with his replacement. I know several people, here, who are seeing pain management doctors while still working recovery.

It's not easy, no one way works for everyone, but I think seeing a doctor, being honest, and getting checked out is a good first step. A good doctor won't judge you and they are worth their weight in gold when you can work WITH them to get healthier.