Notices

Anyone trying to quit benzo's?

Old 10-21-2011, 11:31 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  
Argonaut

Anyone trying to quit benzo's?

I have been using them since 3,5 years, first on and off, then daily and different dosages/benzo's. I think I have taken almost any benzo there is, as it worked well against panic/anxiety.

But now I realize that I was taking them against the panic/anxiety from my drinking problem. Now I am trying to quit both the benzo's and alcohol, 7 days sober now. I stabilized my benzo dosage from 30 mg Valium beginning 2011 to 7,5 mg of Valium the last month. Now I am planning to quit the Valium in one month, tapering off with 2,5 mg every 2 weeks.

It's totally different and faster than the Ashton Manual method but my doctor thinks this method is ok. Has anyone done a tapering this fast?

And are there more people here trying to quit benzo's?
Old 10-21-2011, 03:15 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  
Administrator

Hi Geralt - I have no personal experience but I wanted to welcome you to SR

D
Old 10-21-2011, 03:20 PM
  # 3 (permalink)  

I think I'm the Benzo King here. I "tapered" from 20 milligrams of Klonopin in two weeks and landed in the hospital for 10 days. According to Ashton, that's the equivalent of 400 milligrams of Valium.

Please tread very carefully. Critical, I think, is to stay in close contact with your doctor.

Benzo withdrawal is horrid, and I think you are very smart to taper. The good news is that you've come down from 30 milligrams a day to 7.5 milligrams.

Tapering slowly is the way to go. IS the doctor monitoring your taper the prescribing physician? I think many prescribing doctors aren't clued into the potential for protracted withdrawal.

Posting and reading here has always been a great way to remain focused on recovery. I'm one year sober and couldn't have made it without SR, AA and NA.
Old 10-22-2011, 12:32 AM
  # 4 (permalink)  
Argonaut

Thanks all, I keep you updated how it goes.

@Memphisblue