Notices

Seroquel

Old 03-23-2011, 11:28 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Seroquel

Right... I was just prescribed with Citalopram and Seroquel. While Citalopram affects me really really well, I'm not too sure about Seroquel (50mg a day)...I mean, I find it quite strong. My mind is a total blur post-use, even now I can't really collect my thoughts in order to write an eloquent post. I can see how it would be helpful for schizophrenia (my mum has schizophrenia, she is taking it), but (at least for now) I'm just slightly manic depressive with more depressive episodes than manic ones...and I have panic disorder. ****, I'm actually not even sure I can be classified as bipolar. I have a bit of mood swings and impulse control issues, but on the whole I think it is just depression and panic disorder that I should be treated for.
Also, the thing that mortifies me is the weight gain associated with seroquel. I have seen it first hand (my mum again) and it is MIND BLOWING! I am a professional at eating disorders... I was suffering from anorexia for 2 years. Until I switched to bulimia which I have been battling for 7 years. Weight gain is the LAST thing I want from a medicine esp. one that is supposed to alleviate my depression. At the same time, there is weight gain associated with meds like Carbamazepine, Cipralex(escitalopram) and Flupentixol, which I have taken in the past. And I actually lost weight then, prob. with the help of bulimia but oh well! After reading some of the reviews of seroquel I start to think that even if I restrict my calorie intake, exercise and (god forbid) purge, I''m still gonna gain shocking amounts of weight.
Anyone have any experience of this stuff and any advice! (sorry my question mark isn't working lol)
Old 03-23-2011, 11:49 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  

i take seroquel, BUT only at night. there's no way i could manage through the day with that crap during the day.

i take pristique antidepressant in the morning
Old 03-23-2011, 02:41 PM
  # 3 (permalink)