Notices

My first AA meeting

Old 11-18-2015, 10:49 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

My first AA meeting

Hello all, I wanted to share with you my first AA meeting experience in the hopes that anyone apprehensive about going to their first meeting is put at ease a bit.

For reference, I am 22 years old, a college student, and live in a college town; however, the meeting took place in a building 20 minutes away. I chose that meeting because it was far enough away that I felt comfortable with the fact that I most likely wouldn't know anyone there. I don't fear that as much now after I've started going to meetings; I know anyone I see there is there for the same reasons as me, but anyway, for my first meeting, this brought me immense comfort.

So I go in and a few people say hi to me and not much more. I later found out that most of them thought I was a university student observing for clinical purposes, which is why they didn't welcome me in more thoroughly, ha! But the meeting was a split one. After the beginning readings, we split into a beginner discussion and I'm not quite sure what the other half was doing. In that beginner's discussion, I introduced myself, said I was an alcoholic, and shared that it was my first meeting ever and a bit of background on what brought me there.

I genuinely couldn't believe how supportive and welcoming they were to me. I received a 24 hour chip at the end, got a free blue big book and smaller red book, and I received several phone numbers. One lady gave me the list of meetings and wrote her initials by all the meetings she attended, and another lady did the same. One woman told me where I could start reading in the big book and that she'd meet with me at the end of the week and talk to me about it.