Notices

Question On The 12 Steps

Old 05-29-2011, 03:56 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Question On The 12 Steps

Do you believe that things happen for a reason and how do the 12 steps and spirituality fit into your answer.
Old 05-29-2011, 04:39 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  

BTSO,
I am a firm believer now in the concept of "letting go" and doing the "next right thing".
Do that and everything will fall into place. (sometimes quickly, sometimes slowly, as in "the promises"). For me, it has been bordering on ridiculous, how things are working out.
I haven't started on my step 4 yet and must do so. Doing them in order is the way to go, but no harm scanning ahead and following the ones you can right now. Working toward spirituality and apologizing for wrong-doing and practicing the principles in all our affairs...
I am new to the AA program, not to AA itself. It is SO different than just attending meetings and staying sober. I am no expert on 12 steps and will be following this thread. Have a lovely weekend.
Old 05-29-2011, 04:44 AM
  # 3 (permalink)  

Originally Posted by BackToSquareOne View Post
Do you believe that things happen for a reason and how do the 12 steps and spirituality fit into your answer.
When I first got sober and asked my sponsor a question like yours, he'd ask me two things. 1)Why am I looking for an excuse to not conform to AA and 2)If you find an answer, what difference will it make so why waste time. Get to work.

The 12 steps and spirituality ARE the answer. Accept that and move on.
Old 05-29-2011, 05:30 AM
  # 4 (permalink)  
Not the center of the Universe

I believe right action and right thinking will produce right results. The 12 steps are a perfect example of right action and right thinking leading to a right result - a spiritual awakening.
Old 05-29-2011, 05:31 AM
  # 5 (permalink)