SoberRecovery : Alcoholism Drug Addiction Help and Information

SoberRecovery : Alcoholism Drug Addiction Help and Information (https://www.soberrecovery.com/forums/)
-   Newcomer's Daily Support Threads (https://www.soberrecovery.com/forums/newcomers-daily-support-threads/)
-   -   Class of February 2019 Support Thread Pt 1 (https://www.soberrecovery.com/forums/newcomers-daily-support-threads/435927-class-february-2019-support-thread-pt-1-a.html)

Dee74 02-05-2019 02:26 AM

Originally Posted by Offthemast (Post 7116324)
I feel like Kramer in Seinfeld. I'm not master of my domain. I'm out.

I've been kicking this around for a few years but I guess I'm not serious. I just hope it doesn't take a rock bottom.

I've had some doozies over the years as far as consequences. I learned to manage and now the only consequence, and to me it is the worst consequence, is that my life will not get better unless I do. Either being hungover or drinking is no way to live life. I've isolated myself and I drink to pass the time. When I'm with family I do not drink and don't have the urge. Loneliness and boredom and no skills to remedy the situation. Funny thing is I was an extrovert w/ no problem meeting people back in the day. Gotta work this out.

Knew I forgot one post :)

for years I'd take my failure to stop drinking as proof that I wasn't meant to stop drinking - but in fact I think all it was proof of was my lack of a cohesive plan to live soberly.

Time and again I resolved to try to stop drinking - but did very little to actually change my life - a life which was geared to drinking.

The results were predictable.

I said for many years I was lonely - but what I really was was scared - scared of being alone, scared of being in my own company with no one else to lighten the mood....scared of not being good enough, scared of the fact that the phone didn't ring was proof of my inherent none worthiness.

I had to face those demons - and I could only do that sober.