View Single Post
Old 07-21-2006, 07:28 AM
  # 22 (permalink)  
leviathon

Hi CS, when I first attempted sobriety after relapsing after more than 10 years, I slipped and fell repeatedly. I was under a great deal of stress and I really was struggling. My world was falling apart.

All started when I graduated law school and moved to a new city where I didn't know anyone. The firm I articled with had us working 12-16 hours a day five days a week and more often weekends too. I was lonely, wasn't comfortable meeting new people b/c I am somewhat shy... I started drinking a few beer a day. That then increased once in a while on weekends.

I could no longer work out as a result of a rotator cuff tear that left me without my "normal" stress relief activity and the thing I loved to do most in the world (ya, weird I know). I became depressed and started to drink more frequently.

I then left the firm I articled at and joined another firm. My work at this firm was incredibly stressful. The partners bought out another firm and dumped about 150 more files on me, but I didn't have a legal assistant to assist me (most lawyers will not handle more than 70-100 files without an assistant, I now had over 300). The senior partner's idea of "constructive criticism" involed the use of words such as "moronic", "infantile", "idiotic", all of which was often prefaced with "F@#%ing". As a result of the stress, I would drink to "escape" ... bad idea, don't try it.