Thread: Square One
View Single Post
Old 02-24-2006, 01:20 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  
requiredfield
Peace begins with a smile

Originally Posted by BigPicture
I have been drinking for about 12 years now since I was about 16. It started out as a social thing, and quickly turned into a lifestyle. I never considered my drinking to be a problem when I was in my teens and early 20's cause everone I hung out with also drank and did drugs and I always told myself that I was just "finding myself", "experimenting", "being social".

After about the age of 22 I realized that I was spending more and more time drinking alone and feeling like I was drinking alone even when with other people. I couldn't justify it anymore with the social thing and started to realize it was a problem. It was starting to cause problems in my life. I couldn't keep a job anywhere for more than a month or so. I never had money to pay my bills, yet always had enough to scrape together for alcohol. I jumped around from place to place never living in a place for more than a year. I decided to go to college and get a degree several years ago and almost got kicked out several times for poor academic performance and had to repeat several classes cause drinking all night was more important to me at times than doing what I needed to do (but luckly I stuck with it and will be getting my BA in Marketing this May, which I'm pretty proud of)

The last couple of years my drinking has slowed down somewhat from almost every night to about 2-3 days a week. But I still go through binges ever month or so where I will drink for a couple weeks everyday. I'm currently coming off of one of those binges now.