Old 02-28-2023, 08:20 PM
  # 12 (permalink)  
centrd

Hi Luvflowers,

I'm a newbie and your post really resonated with me. I'm in a fairly new, but serious relationship. We actually started living together before we became involved so there’s a complication, and then not long afterward, I discovered my new love is an alcoholic. He's never been abusive in any way, and most of the time is completely sweet, but when he's trying not to drink, he can get anxious and distant. He’s kind of amazing when drunk but shows signs of stress when sober. He drinks to self-medicate, there’s no doubt. As nice as it might sound, alcohol is not a good coping mechanism. And considering he's a diabetic, I can see he's drinking himself to an early grave. Plus engaging in other risky behaviors like driving after drinking. Not to mention the flaking on commitments, disappearing acts, etc.

So during one particularly nerve-wracking period of worrying about him until my stomach hurt, I looked up the Al-Anon schedule and I've now been to three independently run Al-anon meetings. I went hoping not only to learn how to make sure I don’t slip into unhealthy behavior patterns myself but to also learn about alcoholism and how to deal with it. I definitely want to make sure I'm not enabling him (is giving him a ride when drunk enabling?), trying to fix him, or becoming co-dependent. How do I love him without letting his problem consume me? Is that even possible? How do I know when too much is really too much? When the tradeoffs aren’t worth the worry and stress? And how do I get myself out of what I got myself into if that becomes necessary?