Thread: I did it
View Single Post
Old 01-04-2006, 09:48 AM
  # 5 (permalink)  
pureangelscorp

I've been sober for the past year & three months...I was an odd duck when I self-referred myself to a recovery program! I had desired to stop drinking & using for about 6 months prior to my soberity, yet was so ignorant that I didn't know there was such a thing as AA or Recovery Programs to get the education I needed in order to stop! I was excited, thrilled, & overly joyed about my first meeting with the counselor in the program and expressed so while on the phone scheduling the appointment by stating that I couldn't wait to meet with him & he laughed at me - I questioned if there was something wrong about my excitement & his reply was "lady, I've been doing this for the past 20 years and not once has there ever been anyone "excited" to meet with me"!! Sometimes I still feel like that odd duck in AA because I've never experience such fears or been ashamed to claim that I'm an Alcoholic/Addict-On occassion, when I so openly share about my membership to AA, I become uncomfortable from the responses I get from people but then I remember that they, too, may be just as ignorant as I once was!! This point of this is that when I hear people like yourself share such gut wrenching feelings and the actions they've taken to grow, the hair stands up on the back of my neck and chill bumps cover my body...I wanna stand up and SHOUT to the world, "YES, YES, YES...THERE'S HOPE"!! How AWESOME you are and what a BLESSING you've given to me & so many other's out there from what you've just shared...Thank You so much & Be PROUD of YOURSELF...You're worth every ounce of more so don't settle for less!! Way to go...We always need a few more of YOU in recovery!

Originally Posted by fran832